| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index |
ArtKey resourcesArt & architecture complete (connect | more information)Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications. An image collection is also available. Subjects covered include art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, photography, printmaking, costume design, sculpture, interior and landscape design and graphic arts. Art full text (connect | more information)"Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus."--Publisher description. ARTbibliographies modern (connect | more information)
"ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing."--Publisher description.
Design and applied arts index : DAAI (connect | more information)
"Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) is [a] leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards ... DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture."--Publisher description.
Oxford art online (connect | more information)Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art references (Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics) in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.--About page.
Other resourcesAmsterdam University Press [collection] (connect | more information)A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences. APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to present. Art & architecture complete (connect | more information)Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications. An image collection is also available. Subjects covered include art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, photography, printmaking, costume design, sculpture, interior and landscape design and graphic arts. Art full text (connect | more information)"Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus."--Publisher description. ARTbibliographies modern (connect | more information)
"ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing."--Publisher description.
Arts hub (connect | more information)Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry. Artsjournal.com : the daily journal of arts, culture & ideas (connect | more information)Monitors and collects stories from more than 200 English language newspapers, magazines and publications that write about the arts, and posts links directly to selected stories on free access sites. Also links to art sections of newspapers, magazines and other publications and provides an archive of stories organised by arts genre. ARTstor (connect | more information)Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. AustArt : Australian art journals index (connect | more information)This is a citation database which indexes Australian art journals held in the College of Fine Arts Library at the University of New South Wales. Subject coverage includes: art, architecture, ceramics, craft, design, and film. Australian art sales digest (connect | more information)Website includes: art market information for Australia and New Zealand, forthcoming auctions, past auction results from 1969 to the present, market statistics, and news and opinion. You can also search for any artist from Australia or New Zealand, as the database has listed over 8,800 artists who have lived and/or worked in Australian or New Zealand. The Lot Alerts feature automatically searches each new auction catalogue as it is uploaded to the database, for the artists that you nominate, and advises you of matching lots by email. Australian Public Affairs - full text. See: APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)
Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)
Avery index to architectural periodicals (connect | more information)
"Database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. Avery Index also contains references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects."--Publisher description.
Berg fashion library (connect | more information)Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more. Berg journals collection (connect | more information)"The Berg Journals Collection offers ... online access to the full text of an expanding range of highly respected, interdisciplinary and peer-reviewed journals with a strong focus on culture and the visual arts. A choice of 16 journals is available within the Collection in 2010."--Publisher description. Bridgeman education (connect | more information)"[Searchable database of over] 300,000 [art] images from 2,000 sources, 8,000 locations and 30,000 artists. The site offers an excellent quality of image and metadata (captions and keywords) as well as the legal right to use the images within your institution. Search all media including photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology & ethnography, history, science & medicine, decorative arts and artifacts."--About us. CAN : collections Australia network (connect | more information)The Collections Australia Network (CAN) portal is intended to be the public gateway to collecting institutions across Australia including the small to medium regional institutions. Besides providing access to nationwide information on Australia's cultural heritage, members of the public can also access an individual institution's own CAN website to explore its specific content. Car design news (connect | more information)Car Design News is an online magazine for automotive design industry professionals, transportation design students and design enthusiasts worldwide. Updated daily, Car Design News gives a global overview of the latest automotive design news, in-depth coverage of major autoshows and student design exhibitions, as well as design reviews by industry professionals, and feature articles covering the design process behind new concept and production vehicles. Compendex (connect | more information)Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884. Contemporary fashion (connect | more information)A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world. Current contents connect (connect | more information)Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these. Design and applied arts index : DAAI (connect | more information)
"Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) is [a] leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards ... DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture."--Publisher description.
Dictionary of Australian artists online (connect | more information)The Dictionary of Australian Artists Online (DAAO) provides biographical data, contextual information, commentary and images. Providing authoritative, contemporary information, the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online facilitates, promotes and encourages scholarship on Australian artists. digital culture art course (connect | more information)Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page. Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Film index international (connect | more information)Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. Gemini G.E.L. online catalogue raisonne¿¿ (connect | more information)Cataloge raisonne¿¿ of the works published by Gemini G.E.L. (Graphic Editions Limited), a publishing workshop in Los Angeles. Artistic works include prints in lithography, etching, woodcut and screenprint, often used in combination, as well as sculpture in diverse media. Scope of the database is presently from 1966 to 1996 but more items will be added in the future. Information is based on the Gemini documentation sheets for each item and includes artist, title of work, fabrication notes and other remarks. The image of each item is included. Index translationum : international bibliography of translations (connect | more information)Trilingual cumulative citation database (English/French/Spanish) which contains books translated and published in about 100 of Unesco's member states since 1979 in all disciplines. Journal citation reports. Social sciences edition (connect | more information)This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 1,500 journals in the area of social sciences worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases. Liverpool University Press collection (connect | more information)A multidisciplinary database of over 200 electronic books published by Liverpool University Press. "Established in 1899, Liverpool University Press publishes academic books ... of high quality on a wide range of subjects which includes history, literature, art and architecture, by authors from around the world. The press is a respected publisher of science fiction texts and Liverpool interest titles."--Publisher description. Masters of architecture (connect | more information)An ongoing series of colour images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. It has been digitised from the original collection of 58 slide sets which were published between the mid '80s and 2003. It includes the complete Masters of Architecture series and some additional suitable slide sets (approximately 6,000 images, all fully searchable.) There will be regular additions of similar sets of digitised images which will be automatically added to the website. Material ConneXion (connect | more information)Materials ConneXion is the largest global resource of new materials. Its library houses over 3,500 new and innovative materials representing the eight categories of polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives. Complete Library information is accessible via the Internet, using the Material ConneXion's database. MSDS Australia (connect | more information)Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products. Oxford art online (connect | more information)Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art references (Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics) in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.--About page. Ozbiogs (connect | more information)Compilation of biographical information from three database resources, NATSIVAD, AustArt, and ARTEX, plus additional biographical data sourced by Discovery Media. Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Prints and printmaking : Australia, Asia, Pacific (connect | more information)"Prints and printmaking Australia Asia Pacific provides a gateway for information on printed images from Australia and the Asia Pacific region. Based on the Australian print collection at the National Gallery of Australia there is free online access to over 22,000 images. The databases can be searched by artist, subject or print techniques such as etching, woodcut, wood-engraving, linocut, lithograph, screenprint, monotype and other print related processes such as posters and artists books. Index to online information on printmakers, print workshops, print publishers, print galleries and public and private collections." -- Home page. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ProQuest dissertations & theses : full text (connect | more information)"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text ... includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."--Publisher description. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Rhizome.org (connect | more information)Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available online in the form of Web pages or downloadable files. ScienceDirect (connect | more information)ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994. Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed. TED : ideas worth spreading (connect | more information)This site makes available the best talks (over 600) and performances from past TED conferences. Site also includes a blog. Talks are arranged by theme, speakers, talks and translations. Subjects covered include technology, entertainment, design, business, science, culture, arts and global issues. University of California Press [collection] (connect | more information)Database of over 440 electronic books published by University of California Press. UC Press is among the six largest university presses in the United States. Key subject areas include: Art and Architecture; Autobiographies and biographies; California and the West; Cinema and performing arts; Classical studies; Contemporary social issues; Cultural and ethnic studies; Food and wine; Health and medicine; History; Literary studies; Music; Philosophy; Poetry; Reference; Religion; Science and Social sciences.--IG Publishing. University of Hawaii Press [collection] (connect | more information)Database of over 340 electronic books published by University of Hawaii Press. UH Press' publishing program reflects the cultural milieu of Hawai'i, the academic strengths of the University of Hawai'i, and ... commitment to increasing the flow of scholarship across the Pacific and Asia. Key focus areas include: Anthropology; Archaeology; Art; Asian American studies; Biography; Biology; Buddhism; Ethnic studies; History; Language; Linguistics; Literature; Natural history; Philosophy; Religion; Science; Sociology and Theater.--IG Publishing. Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) (connect | more information)Presents the Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) based at the Surrey Institute of Art and Design in Farnham, England. Provides searchable access to image databases in the U.K. including the Imperial War Museum, London College of Fashion, National Education Archive and The Design Council Archive. VADS aims to provide the United Kingdom higher education sector with access to digital research data by building an on-line archive of electronic resources created by and of use to the visual arts community. Provides information on the organization of VADS, depositors and the deposit process, and standards guidelines. Vogue archive (connect | more information)"The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day ... The contents of Vogue are obviously of central importance to the history of fashion, from the liberating modernism of Coco Chanel to the cross-gendered experimentation of Jean-Paul Gaultier and beyond. However, it is also a rich source for other areas of modern culture, providing a record of changing social tastes, mores and aspirations in the modern world, and encompassing literary works by Kate Chopin, Evelyn Waugh, Vladimir Nabokov and Carson McCullers, articles by Winston Churchill and Bertrand Russell, wartime photojournalism by Lee Miller, features on popular cultural figures of the day from Marlene Dietrich and the Beatles to Nicole Kidman and Beyonce¿¿, and on prominent American women from Jackie Kennedy to Michelle Obama."--About Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link YARP : your arts prizes (connect | more information)"Yarp provides detailed information about arts prizes, residencies, scholarships, grants and fellowships from around Australia. From the smallest regional arts prizes right through to the largest, high profile prizes, prize monies vary from $50 to hundreds of thousands of dollars worth. Each record [in the database] includes prize opening date, prize closing date, exhibition date, prize pool total, entry fee costs, whether prize is acquisitive or not, prize website, entry restrictions, details of the prize including breakdown of individual prize categories and dollar values for each, medium/s of prize, genre of prize, organisation contact details, venue contact details, [and] individual contact details where available."--Scope of the database. Zetabooks (connect | more information)Zeta Books is an international academic publishing house with a focus on the Humanities, especially in translation studies, literature, history, sociology, anthropology, art, photography, neoplatonism, theatre and phenomenology. A small but expanding collection of ebooks is available in full text from this site.
Need help? |
|