AGIS plus text (connect | more information)
AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides access to journal articles on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 140 peer reviewed journals are indexed.
CaseBase (connect | more information)
CaseBase is a citator and annotator of cases from over 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. It provides a guide as to whether a case has been followed, distinguished or overruled by later judgments with coloured signals to flag positive, negative, or cautionary treatment. Journal articles that comment on the case are included.
FirstPoint (connect | more information)
FirstPoint is an online case law research tool that provides citation information, reliable summaries of important cases and makes it easy to find similar and related cases. It is the only Australian case law research tool with easy subject based browsing. FirstPoint makes case law research quick, easy and accurate, and provides a single entry hub for a range of case law content including Australia's largest collection of authorised and specialist law reports. Information is sourced from the Australian Case Citator, Australian Digest and Australian Legal Monthly Digest. See also CaseBase.
LAWLEX (connect | more information)
Provides access to full-text Australian legislation, with associated Bill tracking, amendment & commencement information and links to related material, such as Second Reading speeches. Title, keyword or subject searches are available. A good first stop for finding Australian legislation.
AFPD : Australian Federal Police digest (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished materials on policing, criminology and related fields. Source documents include selected Australian and overseas journals, conference papers, and book chapters.
APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)
Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
APECLIT : APEC literature database (connect | more information)
Focus includes economic cooperation, international trade and trade law, labour and development issues, environment and tourism. Indexes journals (including Australian titles), books, academic papers, reports and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1988 to 2002.
ASIC digest (connect | more information)
This digest compiles the current literature of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission on its activities under the Corporations Law and other national scheme laws. ASIC Digest helps you to understand ASIC Regulatory Guides, Class Orders, Information Sheets and includes an executive summary of recent developments. The online version is updated when developments occur and features a minimum of twelve updates per year.
AustLII (connect | more information)
Provides full text searching of publicly available Australian primary legal materials such as Commonwealth and state consolidated acts and regulations, treaties and decisions of federal and state courts and tribunals. Extensive secondary legal materials such as law reform and royal commission reports, etc. are also included. Includes extensive links to other Australasian, Asian and international legal resources on the Internet.
Australian legal journals index (connect | more information)
ALJI allows browsing or searching through journal abstracts, cases referred to, legislative references, and key-citing information by jurisdiction. Includes links to 20 full text online journals, authorised and specialist law reports. Database also contains over 100,000 abstracts from over 400 legal journals.
Australian legal words and phrases (connect | more information)
A comprehensive index to words and phrases defined in Australian legislation or interpreted and considered in judgments of the superior courts from 1900 to date. Provides over 100,000 words and phrases and complete details of where the word or phrase has been defined and the context in which it is defined.
Australian tax cases (connect | more information)
CCH IntelliConnect (connect | more information)
Provides online access to selected Australian CCH titles and loose-leaf services. These publications cover topics such as corporations law, family law, industrial law, taxation and, occupational health and safety. Commentary, case law and legislation are included. Publications can be browsed or searched.
CINCH : Australian criminology database (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime.
CINCH-ATSIS (connect | more information)
The CINCH-ATSIS database is a subset of CINCH that contains records that specifically relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system.
Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary (connect | more information)
A searchable database of legal definitions supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, including: jurisprudential and criminological terms; explanations of well known rules and principles of law; international law terms, treaties and conventions; translations of Latin legal words and phrases; descriptions of landmark decisions of the High Court of Australia; and biographical entries. There are links to additional citations in Australian Legal Words and Phrases, and to full-text law report series on LexisNexis AU.
FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)
This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families.
Halsbury's laws of Australia (connect | more information)
This legal encyclopaedia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia organised by subject area and covering all nine jurisdictions. Statements of legal principles and propositions of substantive law are supported by references to primary authority (cases and legislation).
Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)
"Covers [full text sources] in agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing."--Informit home page.
Informit indexes (connect | more information)
"Indexes provide instant, searchable access to up to forty years of index and abstract data from Australasia's leading research institutions. Informit Indexes make it easy to locate archived content, ensuring users don't overlook the important information only available in print and ... excluded from full text databases."--Informit Products page.
Informit plus text (connect | more information)
Informit Plus Text databases deliver access to index and abstract data from peer reviewed journals with selective links to thousands of articles in full text. Each Plus Text database is based upon established indexes relating to public affairs, education, law and family studies produced by key content partners including the National Library of Australia, Australian Council for Educational Research, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, and the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Databases include: 1. A+ Education. 2. AGIS Plus Text. 3. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text. 4. Family & Society Plus.-- Product information page.
INTAX : international taxation issues database (connect | more information)
Index, produced by the Australian Taxation Office, to Australian and overseas journals dealing with international taxation issues. Coverage: 1990 to 2003.
Legal online (connect | more information)
Access is provided to selected databases such as Australian Commonwealth Law Reports, Federal Law Reports, Federal Court Reports, Australian Digest, Australian Legal Monthly Digest, The Laws of Australia and the Australian Case Citator.
Legal online. See: Westlaw AU (connect | more information)
LexisNexis (connect | more information)
The Monash subscription provides access to materials on administrative law, corporations, intellectual property, forms and precedents, and general legal research tools that include a dictionary, an encyclopaedia, case citator, statute annotators and current law developments. Decisions from the Commonwealth and State courts and England are included, as well as the full text of some Australian law journals. Unreported Judgments and Australian Law Reports and Australian Current Law updated daily. Most other resources updated monthly.
Native title infoBase (connect | more information)
The Native Title Infobase includes selected material commencing from 1839 to the present day and covers all aspects of native title. It gives reference to Australian material including journal articles, book chapters, books, conference papers, reports and press clippings. It also includes relevant material from other jurisdictions such as New Zealand, United States, Canada, Africa and Asia.
Publications.gov.au (connect | more information)
Publications.gov.au provides assistance to people searching for Australian Government publications and provides links to publications and other resources on the websites of Australian Government agencies, and in the National Library of Australia catalog of Australian Government publications held by Australian libraries.
Tax and accounting online (connect | more information)
"With over 100 individually available tax, accounting, HR, IR and payroll services and a suite of cost effective online packages, Tax and Accounting Online gives you the flexibility to build a bespoke library to suit your exact requirements ... As well as guidance across tax, accounting, superannuation, bankruptcy, compliance, environment and employment there are forms, templates, examples, checklists and calculators to assist with compliance tasks integrated throughout. You can now also access 12 ATO legal databases from within the site with direct links to ATOIDs."--Publisher description.
TAXABS : Australian taxation abstracts database (connect | more information)
Indexes and abstracts technical information on all aspects of taxation. Coverage: 1992 to 2003.
Victorian Supreme Court unreported judgments (connect | more information)
The Victorian Supreme Court Library holds a collection of Judgments dating back to the 1950s. Most of the unreported judgments have been scanned into electronic format, and are available through links on the judgment catalogue record. Where a judgment has been officially reported there is no link, but the catalogue record will show a citation to the relevant Law Report. Until the 1980s there was no formal system for collecting these judgments, so the earlier holdings are very incomplete. (Therefore, the Library does not necessarily hold a complete collection of ALL judgments of the Victorian Courts). For recent Victorian Supreme Court judgments, please use Austlii.
Westlaw AU (connect | more information)
Westlaw AU is Thomson Reuters' new platform for searching selective Australian cases, legislation and commentary, migrated from their former Legal Online service in 2012. Westlaw AU gives you access to legislation, case law, commentary, journals, news and precedents, including: FirstPoint, the first and most comprehensive Case Digest and Case Citator service in Australia - and the only Digest service you can browse by subject; Authorised law reports, including Commonwealth Law Reports and Federal Court Reports; Leading practitioner journals such as Australian Law Journal; Legislation and commentary, constantly monitored and updated to reflect current law in force; The Laws of Australia and Australian Commercial Precedents, [and] Legal and tax information. -- Publisher description, content hightlights.