| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index |
ClassicsKey resourcesAnne真e philologique (connect | more information)A database published by the Socie真te真 Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of E真ric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association. Contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Multiple possibilities for searching are available: by modern authors, by full text, by ancient authors and texts, by subjects and disciplines through a multilevel index showing the different levels of classification by word(s) in the title, by publisher, by collection or by periodical. Brill online (connect | more information)Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles. Project Muse (connect | more information)Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.
Other resourcesAPIS : advanced papyrological information system (connect | more information)"APIS links together in a single environment various sources of information about texts written on papyrus and the society that produced them. It contains descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions, digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts"--About the Project. eBooks@Adelaide (connect | more information)Web book versions of over 2,000 classic texts in literature, philosophy, science, and history. Foreign-language works are mostly presented in English translation. Works are divided chronologically into the Classical Age (e.g., Aristotle; Confucius; Homer; Plato; Plutarch; Sophocles); the Hellenistic Period (e.g., Apollonius of Rhodes); Roman Empire (e.g., Virgil; Horace); the "Dark" Age (e.g., Beowulf; Omar Khayyam); Renaissance (e.g., Bacon; Dante; Chaucer; Cervantes; Galileo; Machiavelli; Marlowe; Shakespeare); the Age of Enlightenment (e.g., Blake; Descartes; Kant; Leibniz; Milton; Molie真re; Newton; Swift); Revolution & Romanticism (e.g., Austen; Dumas; Hawthorne; Hegel; Hugo; Lamarck; Malthus; Shelley); Realism, Naturalism, Symbolism (e.g., Balzac; the Bronte真s; Doyle; Emerson; Ibsen; Melville; Pushkin; Thoreau; Twain; Verne; Wells); and the Age of Uncertainty (e.g., Camus; Chekhov; Darwin; Joyce; Marx; Nietzsche; Shaw; Proust; Wilde; Woolf). Includes special collections of classic works in travel and exploration; gastronomy/cookery; the Gothic novel; horror, science fiction, and fantasy; crime and mystery; the Greek dramatists; and Russian literature. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Oxford scholarship online. Classical studies (connect | more information)"The Oxford Scholarship Online collection provides ... direct and easy access to many of Oxford's distinguished key and new titles in the [Classical Studies] discipline, including essential scholarly works by leading classical scholars on Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History. Series include Oxford Classical Monographs, Oxford Studies in Ancient Documents, Classical Presences, Classical Culture and Society, and American Philological Association Monograph Series."--Home page. Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format. University of California Press [collection] (connect | more information)Database of over 440 electronic books published by University of California Press. UC Press is among the six largest university presses in the United States. Key subject areas include: Art and Architecture; Autobiographies and biographies; California and the West; Cinema and performing arts; Classical studies; Contemporary social issues; Cultural and ethnic studies; Food and wine; Health and medicine; History; Literary studies; Music; Philosophy; Poetry; Reference; Religion; Science and Social sciences.--IG Publishing. Web of science with conference proceedings (connect | more information)Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. The two chemistry databases (Index Chemicus (IC), and Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)) allow you to create structure drawings to find chemical compounds and reactions. You can also search these databases for compound and reaction data.--Publisher description.
Need help? |
|