Asia and the West : diplomacy and cultural exchange (connect | more information)
"This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals."--Publisher description.
China , (connect | more information)
Database contains digitized full text of the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes, these rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world and constitute a rich resource for scholars and teachers in numerous disciplines. Topics covered include: The Chinese diaspora; the Foreign presence in China; Foreign relations and diplomacy; International conflict and invasion; Governance; Missionaries and Christianity; Faith and philosophy; Opium: trade, consumption, policy; Rebellion and revolution; Language and writing; Arts and artefacts; Bibliographies; Education; Leisure and pastimes; Literature, poetry and folklore; The natural world; Science, medicine and health; Trade, industry and commerce; Exploration and travel; Transport and communication; General histories and surveys.
China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)
A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science.
China data online= Zhongguo shu ju zai xian (connect | more information)
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
Chinese pamphlets (connect | more information)
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.
CiNii (connect | more information)
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator) is a database service that offers academic paper information mainly published in Japan in Japanese, with some content in English. The database contents includes academic journals, university research bulletins, and National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database, etc. Reference and citation information, and full text for some papers, are available.
DBpia : electronic journal service (connect | more information)
Full text database including over 1,000 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Human science, linguistics, law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.
digital culture art course (connect | more information)
Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.
Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)
Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available.
E-korean studies= Han'gukhak teit'o真 peisu真 (connect | more information)
Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports. Asia & Pacific, East Asia (connect | more information)
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Topics range from political, military and social issues, to economics, science and technology. This database covers: Asia and the Pacific, and East Asia, 1974-1996.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports. China (connect | more information)
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Topics range from political, military and social issues, to economics, science and technology. This database covers: China, 1974-1996.
Foreign Office files for China, 1949-1976 (connect | more information)
The documents combine eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, economic assessments and synopses on key events, leading personalities and all major new developments relating to China during the period. There is a constant exchange of information between London, the British Embassy in Beijing and its consular outposts. The papers also reflect the continual dialogue between Britain, America, Europe and the Commonwealth on issues relating to East Asia. There are fortnightly summaries for Beijing and Shanghai. Key topics covered include the Great Leap Forward campaign and the repudiation of orthodox Soviet style economic measures, industrial development with particular emphasis on coal, steel and oil, the Twelve Year Plan for Agriculture, three years of natural disasters, 1959-1961, the Rebellion in Tibet, the deterioration of Sino-Soviet relations from 1960 onwards, developments in Macau, the political manoeuvrings of Deng Xiaoping and Liu Shaoqi, the Socialist Education Movement launched by Mao Zedong in 1963 in an attempt to restore his political base and eliminate opposition, the increased conflict between Mao Zedong and Liu Shaoqi, the initial phases of the Cultural Revolution, Mao's massive campaign of ideological renewal and the cult of personality, the representation of China at the United Nations, Cold War tensions and the economic growth in Taiwan supported by US financial and military aid.
Foreign Office files for China, 1949-1980 (connect | more information)
"The documents in Secion I combine eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, economic assessments and synopses on leading Chinese personalities. There is a constant exchange of information between London and the British Embassy in Beijing and its consular outposts and a continual dialogue on issues relating to East Asia between Britain and America as well as with European and Commonwealth partners. Sino-Soviet relations also become a very important consideration in the Cold War era. Key topics covered include: In depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures; Tthe Korean War; The economic situation in China, industrialisation and modernisation; HMS Amethyst and the blockade of the Yangtze River; Differences between British and American domestic policy on China; The Chinese Communist threat to Hong Kong; Land reform and redistribution benefitting some 60% of the population, but persecuting over a million people who often lost their lives and well as their lands; American military support and financial aid for Formosa/Taiwan; Chinese military machinations and the Cold War."--Publisher description.
Foreign Office files for China, 1949-1980 (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)
The Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976, a further period of immense social and political upheaval, led to nationwide chaos and economic disarray. This dominates the files from 1967 onwards. It led into the power struggles and political instability after 1969, which culminated in the arrest of the Gang of Four (Jiang Qing, Mao's last wife and the leading figure of the group, and her close associates Zhang Chunqiao, Yao Wen-yuan and Wang Hong-wen). Material after Mao Zedong's death in September 1976 focuses on the policies of Deng Xiaoping. Whilst he did not take the supreme office himself, by 1980 he had secured the appointment of Hu Yaobang as head of the CCP and Zhao Ziyang as premier. Both were close associates and firm supporters of Deng's policies. Includes full text
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (connect | more information)
"These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. This was a turbulent era in the region's history. The partition of 1947 and the splitting apart of Pakistan in 1971 were accompanied by loss of life and enormous population movements, as refugees fled violence or ethnic conflict. India fought Pakistan twice in Kashmir, in 1947-8 and 1965, and China in the Himalayas in 1962. Stable and democratic government proved elusive outside India, the region experiencing a succession of coups: in Pakistan in 1958 and 1977, in Afghanistan in 1973, 1978 and 1979, and in Bangladesh in 1975; democracy underwent a flowering and then a withering in Nepal, where King Mahendra established a partyless autocracy in 1959. Even in India, which had successfully established a democratic, secular state at independence, the government of India Gandhi became increasingly authoritarian and intolerant of dissent in the 1970s, imprisoning hundreds of opponents.... The files in this collection cover these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, the papers in the files cover such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia." Section I, Independence, partition and the Nehru era, 1947-1964: This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between Indian and Pakistani independence and the death of Jawaharlal Nehru. The documents, from the Dominions Office (renamed Office of Commonwealth Relations in 1947) and Foreign Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera. Section II, South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71: Continued fighting over Kashmir and the separation of Bangladesh from Pakistan meant that further conflict dominated this period. It saw Indira Gandhi, Nehru's daughter, gain power in India, whilst the military government of Pakistan wrestled with political disturbances, military crises and issues in East Pakistan. Section III, This last section will cover the 1970s, a decade in which all the main states of the Indian subcontinent all experienced political upheavals and repression in varying degrees. Bangladesh emerged as an independent state but failed to achieve political stability, and Pakistan returned to civilian rule, in the wake of the military's failure to prevent Bangladesh's secession, before another military coup returned the army to power five years later. In India, the government of Indira Gandhi became increasingly dictatorial, jailing hundreds of opponents and declaring a state of emergency in 1975. In 1977, Gandhi's government fell and India elected its first non-Congress prime minister. Events also began in Afghanistan which foreshadowed the chaotic conditions there of the 1980s and 1990s ... The 1970s also saw India develop nuclear weapons and Pakistan begin development in response.
History culture series (connect | more information)
"History Culture Series is a multi-media content database dedicated to Korean history and culture. Developed for school use by professors, researchers, and museum curators, History Culture Series allows users to store and download text and photos easily and quickly for use in the classroom. An English version of ZININZIN will be produced in DVD format to foster an understanding of Korean history and culture outside of Korea."--Database description, eKorean studies.
Kdatabase= Han真gukhak cho真nja toso真gwan (connect | more information)
Kdatabase is an essential resource for research on modern and contemporary Korean history. It is divided into two sections: full-text articles written by a highly selective group of scholars; and image files of archival documents produced by the Government-General of Korea during the Japanese colonial period and the U.S. military government. Includes a range of texts, such as journal articles, archival documents, and e-books.
KISS : Han真guk u真i haeksim chisik cho真ngbo chawo真n (connect | more information)
Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles from over 5,600 journals, covering all subject areas.
KoreaA2Z (connect | more information)
KoreaA2Z is a knowledge content resource for Korean studies, including full-text online databases collecting primary sources and classics organized by subjects or format. Works such as the History of the Three Kingdoms (Sam'guk sagi )-in over a hundred editions-the Four Books and the Three Classics (Saso samgyong ), and the Digital Encyclopedia of National Culture (EncyKorea) are included in KoreaA2Z.--Database description, eKorean studies.
Korean history & culture research database (connect | more information)
Korean History & Culture Research Database is a full-text collection of excavation reports of historical sites in Korea operated by national and university museums and private research institutions and associations since 1910. It also contains research papers, reports, catalogs, and maps related to Korean geography, history, folklore, and architecture.
KRpia : knowledge reference service (connect | more information)
Full-text collection of Korean classical books (133 titles in 10 subjects). Users may search and retrieve primary sources, oral sources, classical texts, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and general reference works in fields such as Korean history, literature, civilization, medicine, architecture, and natural history.
KSI e-Book (connect | more information)
Provides access to over 4,500 electronic books and theses that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Korea.
Kungnip Chungang Toso真gwan Cho真nja Toso真gwan= The National Library of Korea Digital Library (connect | more information)
LawnB= Lo aen bi (connect | more information)
LawnB Legal Information Service is an extensive collection of Korean legal materials online, and a portal service for all law-related issues. It indexes 50 categories such as statues, precedents, commentaries, administrative documents and statistics, academic articles, law journals, law-related news, etc.
Maisaku (connect | more information)
Complete full-text content of Mainichi shimbun, one of the major Japanese newspapers. Covers Mainichi shimbun from 1872 onwards, Journal Shukan ekonomisuto from 1989 onwards, Mainichi daily news (in English) from 2008 onwards, Mainichi yoron sachi, 20-seiki daijiken, Mainichi shimbun shashi etc. One access only.