| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index |
GeosciencesKey resourcesGeoRef (connect | more information)The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 90,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Scopus (connect | more information)Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
Other resourcesAAPG/Datapages (connect | more information)This is the combined search-and-retrieval website for AAPG publications and related collections. Includes full-text and abstracts. AESIS (connect | more information)AESIS covered Australian-generated published and unpublished documented materials over the full range of the geosciences, minerals and petroleum and related areas. From 1979 AESIS also covered material published on continental Australia by non-Australian sources. AESIS commenced in 1976, but coverage goes back to 1975 and much earlier, especially for open-file reports and theses. Retrospective coverage for published material was also undertaken through special projects for the GSA, ASEG, AusIMM, Geoscience Australia and the various Australian Royal Societies. With approximately 200,000 references AESIS continues to be a valuable source to over 30 years contribution to geoscience literature by Australian authors. AGU digital library (connect | more information)The AGU Digital Library is a comprehensive collection of more than 100 years of earth and space science research. As of the library's launch in January 2008, all journals published by AGU, and in the case of one journal, by its predecessors, are available, except for International Journal of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy. Book titles and the newspaper, Eos, will be added as ready. The library contains articles from journals dating back to 1896. Lectures/interviews on streaming video are also available. AGU journals. See: AGU digital library (connect | more information)
Bibliography of fossil vertebrates (connect | more information)The BFV online database provides searchable access to various compilations and annual volumes, all considered part of the Bibliography of fossil vertebrates series with an unbroken record of the entire published literature on vertebrate fossils from 1509 to1958 and 1981 to 1993. Current contents connect (connect | more information)Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these. Engineering village (connect | more information)This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, Inspec, Referex Engineering, GEOBASE and GeoRef. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world. Environmental encyclopedia (connect | more information)Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible. Environmental sciences and pollution management (connect | more information)
This multidisciplinary database, provides ... comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Subjects covered include: Agricultural biotechnology; Air quality; Aquatic pollution; Bacteriology; Ecology; Energy resources; Environmental biotechnology; Environmental engineering; Environmental impact statements (U.S.); Hazardous waste; Industrial hygiene; Microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive; Risk assessment; Safety science; Toxicology & toxic emissions; Water pollution; Waste management; Water resource issues.
GEOBASE (connect | more information)GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database that deeply indexes research literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. The database contains over 1.8 million bibliographic records taken from 2,000 scientific and technical journals. Online coverage is from 1980 to the present, and files are updated weekly. GEOnetBASE (connect | more information)This collection covers emerging developments in the geosciences. Includes Earthquake Engineering Handbook and Geotechnical Engineering Investigation Handbook. KPjournal (connect | more information)Provides full text access to 18 science/engineering journals and research papers published in North Korea in the fields of Natural Science (Biology, Physics, Chemistry), Geography, Medical, Pharmacology, Engineering, Mineralogy. Lyell collection (connect | more information)Collection of earth science literature; includes the Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, the Society's Memoir series, Special publications series, and the Engineering geology special publications series. Includes 14,000+ peer-reviewed articles. NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica. paleobiology database (connect | more information)"The Paleobiology Database seeks to provide researchers and the public with information about the entire fossil record.You can use the site to find out about fossil collections, individual plants and animals, taxonomic groups, references to publications, stratigraphic units, time scales, and time intervals."--About. "The Database currently includes nine main tables: published references, taxonomic names, taxonomic synonymies and classifications, primary collection data, taxonomic occurrences, reidentifications of occurrences, and three tables describing geological time scales. Additional scientific tables track ecological and taphonomic attributes of higher taxa and species, measurements of specimens, and data about the digital fossil images on the site."--About. SEDAC : Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (connect | more information)Search a distributed system of catalogs held at SEDAC and other federal, regional, state, and international organizations. These catalogs contain metadata records describing data sets and other resources available from the Earth, natural, and social science communities. University of Kansas paleontological contributions : community home page (connect | more information)Since 1947 the Paleontological Institute has published The University of Kansas Paleontological Contributions. These have been in the form of Articles (1947-1984), Papers (1965-1988), Monographs (1982, 1990), Special Publications (1957, 1967, 1968, 1970, 2007) and Paleo Contributions New Series (1992-present). Selected publications from these series are now available at this website for searching and download. USGS water data for the nation (connect | more information)This web site provides access to current and historical water resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in the United States, Puerto Rico and Guam. The data is organised around the following categories: real-time; site information; surface water; ground water; and, water quality.The USGS investigates the occurrence, quantity, quality, distribution, and movement of surface and underground waters and disseminates the data to the public, State and local governments, public and private utilities, and other Federal agencies involved with managing our water resources. Web of science with conference proceedings (connect | more information)Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. The two chemistry databases (Index Chemicus (IC), and Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)) allow you to create structure drawings to find chemical compounds and reactions. You can also search these databases for compound and reaction data.--Publisher description. Wiley online library (connect | more information)Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series. The major collections of the Wiley online library are: Journals, Journal backfiles, Online books and book series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.
Need help? |
|