MathEduc (connect | more information)
MathEduc (formerly MATHDI) is the only international reference database offering a world-wide overview of current and recent literature on mathematics education. This ranges from didactics in mathematics to text books and teaching material. MathEduc also covers education in computer science on the elementary level. The scope includes literature for all school levels up to university education, teachers' training, job training, and general educational and pedagogical issues. About 500 journals from all over the world are evaluated, plus books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, syllabuses, curricula, audiovisual media, teaching aids, games and software.
MathSciNet (connect | more information)
MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.
Academic earth (connect | more information)
The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.
ACM digital library (connect | more information)
Covers full text journals and proceedings from the Association since the 1950s. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations
Citebase.eprints.org (connect | more information)
Citebase is a prototype OAI harvester which provides users with the facility for searching across multiple archives, with results ranked according to many criteria, including citation impact with citation linking. Abstracts and some full records are also available. Citebase contains articles from physics, maths, information science, and (published only) biomedical papers.
CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)
A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.
Current contents connect (connect | more information)
Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.
Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)
This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)
Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
MATHnetBASE (connect | more information)
MATHnetBASE provides access to over 70 full text mathematical resources, including handbooks and manuals, published by CRC Press. Formulas, techniques, derivations and background material needed in all areas of applied mathematics are included. Publications can be browsed or searched.
On-line encyclopedia of integer sequences (connect | more information)
Most people use this web site to get information about a particular number sequence. Its main purpose is to allow mathematicians or other scientists to find out if some sequence that turns up in their research has ever been seen before. If it has, they may find that the problem they're working on has already been solved, or partially solved, by someone else. Or they may find that the sequence showed up in some other situation, which may show them an unexpected relationship between their problem and something else. Another purpose is to have an easily accessible database of important, but difficult to compute, sequences.
Oxford scholarship online. Mathematics (connect | more information)
A searchable database of e-books published by Oxford University Press in the area of mathematics. Subjects covered include: Algebra; Applied mathematics; Combinatorics / Graph theory / Discrete mathematics; Geometry / topology; History of mathematics; Logic / Computer science / Mathematical philosophy; Mathematical physics; Numerical analysis; Probability / statistics; and Pure mathematics. This collection also includes texts for the key series: Oxford mathematical monographs, Oxford logic guides, Oxford statistical science series, Oxford studies in probability, Numerical mathematics and scientific computation, Oxford graduate texts in mathematics; and the Oxford lecture series in mathematics and its applications.
Princeton University Press collection (connect | more information)
Established in 1905, Princeton University Press publishes general and scholarly books in the humanities, social sciences, economics and business, and natural science. This multidisciplinary database includes over 900 selected titles from Princeton University Press.
ProQuest dissertations & theses : full text (connect | more information)
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text ... includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."--Publisher description.
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link
Proquest research library (connect | more information)
"From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles - over 3,600 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers."--Publisher product description.
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link
Richard Feynman : the Messenger series (connect | more information)
"[Project Tuva] site hosts the Messenger Lectures series titled The Character of Physical Law given at Cornell University by Richard Feynman in 1964 and recorded by the BBC.The project [is] a collaborative effort between Bill Gates and Microsoft Research that is designed to demonstrate the potential of enhanced video to teach people about the "core scientific concepts" of Feynman's lectures using interactive media. According to his video introduction, Gates saw the lectures when he was younger. He enjoyed the physics concepts and Feynman's lecturing style, and later acquired the rights to make the video available to the public. [Included in the video lectures] is expert commentary from Stephen D. Ellis of the University of Washington and the Student Physics Society at the University of Washington. The Silverlight application also includes text search over transcripts (which are shown synchronized with the video), support for time-stamped note-taking, and "Extras" that complement the video with external links, formulae, interactive demonstrations, and embedded WorldWide Telescope astronomical objects and tours. --Wikipedia, viewed August 4, 2009.
Siam e-books (connect | more information)
Siam e-books is a database of nearly 400 e-books covering the broad areas of mathematics, applied and theroetical. Specific subject areas covered include: Applied geometry; ; Applied mathematics education; Applied probability; Astronomy, planetary sciences, and optics; Atmospheric and oceanographic sciences; Biological sciences; Chemical kinetics; Communication theory; Computational mathematics; Computer sciences; Control and systems theory; Data mining and information retrieval; Discrete mathematics and graph theory; Dynamical systems; Economics and finance; Electromagnetic theory and semiconductor and circuit analysis; Environmental sciences; Fluid mechanics; Functional analysis; General interest; Geophysical sciences; Image processing; Linear algebra and matrix theory; Management sciences and operations research; Materials science; Math and computation in industrial applications; Mathematical physics; Mechanics of solids; Nonlinear waves and coherent structures; Numerical analysis; Optimization theory and mathematical programming; Ordinary differential equations; Partial differential equations; Real and complex analysis; Simulation and modeling; Social sciences; Statistics.
SIAM journals online (connect | more information)
Full text articles from journals of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Electronic issues are published on an article-by-article basis in advance of the corresponding print issues.
SpringerLink (connect | more information)
Provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. Subject coverage includes: Biomedical sciences, Business & management, Chemistry, Computer science, Earth sciences and geography, Economics, Education & language, Energy, Engineering, Environmental sciences, Food science & nutrition, Law, Life sciences, Materials, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Psychology, Public health, Social sciences, and Statistics.
STATSnetBASE (connect | more information)
STATSnetBASE provides access to over 120 full text statistical methods resources, including handbooks and manuals, published by CRC Press. It covers applications in a wide range of disciplines from the environmental and social sciences to medicine, biology and operations research. Publications can be browsed or searched.
Web of science with conference proceedings (connect | more information)
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. The two chemistry databases (Index Chemicus (IC), and Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)) allow you to create structure drawings to find chemical compounds and reactions. You can also search these databases for compound and reaction data.--Publisher description.
Wiley online library (connect | more information)
Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series. The major collections of the Wiley online library are: Journals, Journal backfiles, Online books and book series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.
Wolfram MathWorld : the web's most extensive mathematics resource (connect | more information)
"MathWorld has been assembled over more than a decade by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from thousands of contributors. Since its contents first appeared online in 1995, MathWorld has emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities. It not only reaches millions of readers from all continents of the globe, but also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers ... MathWorld currently features a number of innovative interactive elements that enhance its usability for a variety of different readers. These features include: The MathWorld Classroom, which provides a set of pop-up "capsule summaries" for more than 300 mathematical terms. Extensive citations to books and journal articles ...Thousands of downloadable Mathematica notebooks. Several types of interactive entries, including LiveGraphics3D applets for interactive three-dimensional geometry." -- About webpage.
World Scientific journals (connect | more information)
Provides full text access to over one hundred journals published by World Scientitific. Subject coverage includes: chemistry, computer science, economics, finance and management, engineering, environmental science, materials science, mathematics, medical and life sciences, nonlinear science, physics and social sciences.