Occupational health & safety
Chemwatch (connect | more information)
Chemwatch is one of the world's largest supplier of independently researched MSDS (Material safety data sheets) and other related documents.
MSDS Australia (connect | more information)
Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products.
TOXICOLOGYnetBASE (connect | more information)
From environmental investigations to laboratory testing, from pathological studies to target-organ toxicology, this online tool offers the latest methods and data for any type of toxicological investigation. Also including the ATSDR database, it surveys issues related to food, nutrition, drug abuse, pharmaceuticals, and developmental toxicology.
TOXNET : (Toxicology Data Network) (connect | more information)
Provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including CCRIS, ChemlDplus, DART/ETIC, EMIC, GENE-TOX, IRIS, NCI-3D, TOXLINE, TRI (Toxics Release Inventory). It also provides links to related web resources.
AUSA : Australasian University Safety Association (connect | more information)
AUSA is the network of OHS professionals servicing the tertiary education and research sector of Australasia. The AUSA website provides links to the OHS pages of member organisations and other reputable OHS resources, as well as an electronic mailing list for communication within the network. Details of its biennial conference are also provided.
CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)
A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.
ERGONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)
Searchable database providing information involving all aspects of human productivity and comfort. Categories include cognitive engineering and decision, communications, human performance modeling, product design, safety, and work design.
Health & safety science abstracts (connect | more information)
This database is published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management and provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene. Subjects covered include: Occupational safety and health; Transportation; Environmental and ecology; Food and drugs; Pesticides; Natural disasters, civil defense and emergency management; Fire safety; Radiation safety and electrical safety; Consumer and recreation safety; Ergonomics and human factors; Diseases, injuries and trauma; Epidemiology and public health; Medical safety; Toxicology; and Civil and structural engineering.
NIOSH (connect | more information)
The NIOSH Web site features many different types of databases and information resources. They are categorized here by Chemical; Injury, Illness & Hazards Data and Information; Publications; Respirators and Other Personal Protective Equipment; Agriculture; and Construction. The most popular databases include the International Chemical Safety Cards, NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, and NIOSHTIC-2.
OCCUP-HEALTHandSAFETYnetBASE (connect | more information)
A collection of over 30 handbooks on occupational health and safety, risk assessment and management. They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.
OMNRES : OMN training resources database, resources (connect | more information)
Database lists training resources available in Australia from commercial distributors, educational institutions and government departments. Resources listed include films, videos, audio cassettes, computer based training, games, books, manuals, databases and test instruments. Resource listings include full production details, format, long descriptions, price and supplier contact information. Covers all subject areas relevant to training of management and staff, from human resource development to industrial relations and occupational health and safety (OH&S). Coverage: 1966 to 2000.
OSH references collection (connect | more information)
The OSHLINE bibliographic database provides extensive and up-to-date coverage of published occupational health and safety literature from around the world. Developed by CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety), OSHLINE continues the coverage of the NIOSHTIC database which provided comprehensive coverage until 1998. Subject coverage is constantly expanding as new topics of interest emerge in the field of occupational health and safety. OSHLINE provides access to current, peer-reviewed journal articles, research reports, conference proceedings and textbooks - all with detailed abstracts and subject keywords. References are to English language materials.
Patty's industrial hygiene (connect | more information)
Patty's toxicology (connect | more information)
Risk abstracts (connect | more information)
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature on risks arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment of the magnitude and probability of risk and the management of risk. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Major areas of coverage include review articles, models and forecasting, technological risks, natural hazards, biological risks, environmental risks, medical and environmental health, economics and organization, industrial and labor, policy and planning, sociological factors, psychological aspects.
Sittig's handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens (connect | more information)