Asia and the West : diplomacy and cultural exchange (connect | more information)
"This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals."--Publisher description.
BERITA : Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN database (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on articles on Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and other Southeast Asian countries. Source documents include journals, monographs, journal articles, articles in books and conference papers. Subject coverage includes archaeology, architecture, arts, biography, communication and media, education, law, literature, economics, geography, history, linguistics, science, medicine and health, philosophy, religion, politics, information science, travel and tourism. Also included are materials regarding the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN).
Cornell modern Indonesia collection (connect | more information)
"The Cornell Modern Indonesia Project (CMIP) was initiated in the 1950s by faculty members in Cornell's Southeast Asia Program who were committed to making contemporary analyses of Indonesia and translations of its important documents available to scholars and students. The 75 titles in this series are divided into four categories: Interim Reports, Translations, Monographs, and Bibliographies. These works capture the drama of Indonesia's political and social evolution through the twentieth century: its struggle for independence from the Dutch under the leadership of Sukarno, reactions to the Japanese Occupation, the development of its civil government, its civil insurgencies, and the conditions that prevailed throughout the long dictatorship of General Suharto. A few other works in this series, such as Benedict Anderson's Mythology and the Tolerance of the Javanese, reflect on earlier Indonesian history relevant to the modern nation."--Home page.
Digital South Asia library (connect | more information)
The Digital South Asia Library, a project of the Center for Research Libraries, is a global collaborative effort to make important and rare South Asian resources available to the international community.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports. Asia & Pacific, East Asia (connect | more information)
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. Topics range from political, military and social issues, to economics, science and technology. This database covers: Asia and the Pacific, and East Asia, 1974-1996.
Institute of Southeast Asian studies collection (connect | more information)
A searchable database of over 200 electronic books published by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. The Institute is a major publisher of scholarly books and journals on Southeast Asia and the Asia-Pacific, focusing on economics, politics, and social issues.
NiAS Press ebooks (connect | more information)
The Nordic Institute of Asian Studies, NIAS, in Copenhagen, was founded as an independent Asian studies institute in 1968. Supported by the Nordic Council of Ministers it has maintained a commitment to contribute to the development of Asian studies in the Nordic region. NIAS aims to create both synergy and better coordination of activities within the field of Asian studies in the Nordic region. This collection of 91 NIAS ebook titles is representative of their publishing output to date.
PDIP : Indonesian learned periodicals database (connect | more information)
A bibliographic database that indexes articles and conference proceedings on the sciences in Indonesia, as well as seminar papers on science and technology that were organised in Indonesia. It covers more than 1,280 journals and contains 36,690 articles ranging from the humanities and social sciences; physical sciences; pure and applied sciences. Coverage: 1980 to 2002.
PDIR : Indonesian research report database (connect | more information)
A bibliographic database that indexes research reports and survey reports in Indonesia. PDIR reflects the function of the Center for Scientific Documentation and Information at the Institute of Sciences, namely to collect Indonesian scientific publications, to document activities of scientific publications on Indonesia, to develop a national scientific bibliographical database, and to provide scientific and technical information (STI) services. Coverage: 1980 to 2000.
SMC : Singapore/Malaysia collection (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts items from published and unpublished material relating to Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and ASEAN. Source documents include microfilmed items of public records, government documents, serials, company reports, newspapers and manuscripts. It also includes academic exercises and theses submitted ot the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions. Subject coverage: Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN. Ceased updating in September 2007.
THESES : NUS theses collection (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes theses and academic exercises submitted to the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions, namely Raffles College, University of Malaya, University of Malaya (Singapore division), the Nanyang University and the University of Singapore. Titles in Chinese are excluded. Ceased updating in Sept. 2007.